Development & Alumni Relations Office 

Public Service & Religion

  • Marie Anderson (née Maguire) – LLB 1983; Public Services Ombudsman
  • Francis Campbell – BA Politics 1992; former British Deputy High Commissioner to Pakistan, now Vice-Chancellor, St Mary's University, Twickenham, London (SMU);
  • Datuk Ramesh Chander –  BSc Econ 1958; First head of Malaysia’s Department of Statistics
    Adviser to World Bank’s Chief Economist/Senior Vice President; retired
  • Lord Robin Eames – LLB 1963; former Archbishop of Armagh/ member House of Lords (W)
  • Dame Joan Harbison CBE, DBE – MSc Psychology 1972; former Chief Commissioner of the Equality Commission for NI, former Older People's Advocate for NI (W)
  • Professor David N Hempton – BA (1974), Dean of Harvard Divinity School, honorary graduate and former Professor of Modern History at Queen’s, Fellow of the Royal Historical Society and honorary member Royal Irish Academy (W)

  • Al Hutchinson – MBA 2003; former Police Ombudsman for Northern Ireland

  • Alan Jones – BSc Architecture 1987; Senior Lecturer School of the Built Environment; elected President of the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) (2019-21) (W)
  • Avila Kilmurray – PhD 2009; Director of the Community Foundation for Northern Ireland
  • John Leckey – LLB 1971; former Senior Coroner for Northern Ireland
  • Mary McAleese – LLB 1973; 8th President of Ireland
  • Fiona McCandless – BSc Environmental Planning 1990; Chief Planner, Planning NI Department of the Environment (DOE)  
  • Boyd McCleary – BA German 1972; former HM Governor, British Virgin Islands
  • Barra McGrory – BA Ancient History & Celtic 1983; Director of Public Prosecutions for Northern Ireland
  • Fionnuala Jay-O'Boyle, CBE – BA Ancient History, 1982; Lord Lieutenant of Belfast (W)
  • Leo O'Reilly, CB – BA Economic History & Economics 1977; Permanent Secretary at the Department for Communities (NI)
  • Dr Orlaigh Quinn DGov 2006; Secretary General of the Department of Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation in the Irish Civil Service 
  • Fiona Ross – LLM 2008; Chair of Córas Iompair Éireann (CIÉ)
  • Heather Weir –  BSc 1999; Chief Executive Officer at Northern Ireland Hospice

Top of Page