Development & Alumni Relations Office 

Science & Medicine

  • Lord John Alderdice – MB BCh BAO 1978; member of the House of Lords
  • Dame Ingrid Allen – MB BCh BAO 1957; internationally renowned for her work on infections of the nervous system and Multiple Sclerosis; founder of Multiple Sclerosis Journal
  • Dr Janice Bailie – BSc 1987, PhD Biochemistry 1990; Assistant Director HSC R&D (L)
  • Dr Stephen Barr – PhD Chemistry 1993; President & Managing Director, Almac Discovery (W)
  • Dr D Shaun Bloomfield – MSci 2001, PhD Astrophysics 2005; Senior Research Fellow at Trinity College Dublin (TCD); SolarOrbiter Instrument Scientist;
  • Dr Cecil Cyrus – BSc Anatomy 1957; MB BCh BAO 1957; Master of Surgery 1991 (W)
  • Dr Raymond G Flood – BSc 1970; mathematician, Emeritus Fellow/member of Continuing Education Dept at Kellogg College, Oxford (W)
  • Colin Hayburn – LLB 1998; Executive Director, Almac
  • John Irvine – LLB 1980; Executive Director Almac (W)
  • Alan Jones – BSc Architecture 1987; Senior Lecturer School of the Built Environment; elected President of the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) (2019-21) (W)
  • Dr Sinclair Mayne – BAgr 1980, PhD 1983; Chief Executive AFBI (W)
  • Susan McGrath – BSc Applied Maths 1999; science communicator aka “Scientific Sue” (W)
  • Dr Michael McKay – BSc Aeronautical Engineering 1979; Ground Segment Manager, European Space Agency
  • Chris Moriarty – BSc Biochemistry 1994; Global Manager, Randox Laboratories (Pharma Services Division) (L)
  • Dr Steve Myers OBE – BSc 1968, PhD 1972, DSC 2003; former CERN Director of Accelerators and Technology; ADAM Executive Chair  
  • Canice Nicholas – BSc Pharmacy 1997; company director/pharmacist, Cara Pharmacy chain
  • Ramona Nicholas – BSc Pharmacy 1998; company director/pharmacist, Cara Pharmacy chain
  • Dr Colin O'Dowd – PhD Chemistry 2000; Director Medicinal Chemistry, Almac (W)
  • Professor Máire O’Neill – MEng Electrical and Electronic Engineering 1999, PhD 2002; former British Female Inventor of the Year, cyber security expert; Director of Research for Data Security Systems, CSIT
  • Dr Margaret Patterson OBE – BSc Food Science 1981, PhD Food Microbiology 1984, MSSc Organisation & Management 1999; Principal Scientific Officer at Agri-Food and Biosciences Institute (AFBI), Honorary Reader in School of Biological Sciences (IFST)
  • Dr Janil Puthucheary – MB BCh BAO 1995; Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Education and Ministry of Communications and Information and Minister-in-charge of the Government Technology Agency (GovTech) in Singapore (W)
  • Patrick Taylor – MD 1985; Retired medical researcher; professor emeritus University of British Columbia; best-selling novelist (W)
  • Daniel Mahendran Thuraiappah – MB BCh BAO 1965; Professor in Family Medicine in MAHSA University, Kuala Lumpur & President-Elect at Academy of Family Physicians, Malaysia;

Top of Page